Skip to content
Computing and IT

Computing Level 3

  • Course Type: Diploma/Certificate

What can this course lead to?

Once you have successfully completed the qualification you can progress onto
university, an apprenticeship or into employment.

Qualification progression would include:

  • Level 4 University Programmes
  • Advanced/Higher Apprenticeship in IT, Software, Web and Telecoms, Social Media, Digital Marketing and Information Security

Employment progression could lead to you working as a:

  • Trainee Network Administrator
  • Trainee Computer Programmer
  • Trainee Systems Administrator
  • Trainee Web and Social Media Administrator
  • Trainee Cyber Security Administrator

Who is it for?

This course will help you to develop a comprehensive and broad understanding of the IT digital environment.

It’s also a great qualification if you are looking to begin a career within this sector and is well established at the college.

What is covered?

During your study you will cover a range of areas which will help you to develop your knowledge and skills as well as learning to apply these to practical situations. You will complete four or seven mandatory topics depending on the diploma chosen.

On successful completion of the Foundation Diploma course, you will have the option to study for an additional year to top up your qualification to the BTEC Extended Diploma in Computing.

In this 1st year you will study the fundamental building blocks of computing subjects providing a broad set of skills and knowledge.

Mandatory Units - Must be Achieved:

  • Unit 1 Principles of Computer Science (Year 1)
  • Unit 7 IT Systems Security and Encryption (Year 1)
  • Unit 8 Business Applications of Social Media (Year 1)
  • Unit 2 Fundamentals of Computer Systems (Year 1)
  • Unit 3 Planning and Management of Computing (Year 2)
  • Unit 4 Software Design and Development (Year 2)
  • Unit 9 The Impact of Computing (Year 2)

Optional Units - Tailored to our course:

  • Unit 11 Digital Graphics and Animation (Year 1)
  • Unit 20 Managing and Supporting Systems (Year 1)
  • Unit 14 Computer Games Development (Year 2)
  • Unit 16 Object-oriented Programming (Year 2)
  • Unit 17 Mobile Apps Development (Year 2)
  • Unit 19 Computer Networking (Year 2)
  • Unit 21 Virtualisation (Year 2)

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

4 GCSEs at 4/C or above including maths and English. T-Level requires Grade 5 in English and maths.

Start date: 02/09/2024

Course Code



1 Year



Full-time courses are fully funded for 16 to 18-year-olds. For age 19+, various funding options are available.

Apply Now Enquire

Part of the Inspire Education Group © 2023 All rights reserved.

Website by Itineris
Group Logo